46 Celebrities Named in Instagram Endorsement Scandal

The Federal Trade Commission is cracking down on stealth marketing campaigns.

46 Celebrities Named in Instagram Endorsement Scandal

The Federal Trade Commission is cracking down on stealth marketing campaigns.

The Federal Trade Commission is actively taking steps to root out stealth marketing campaigns on social media. As WWD reports, the FTC recently sent 90 “warning” letters to at least 46 celebrities citing Instagram posts in which the “material connection” between the celebrity and the marketer isn’t so well defined. (In other words: Jen Selter, did you really buy that Adidas shirt, or are you on the company’s payroll?)

These celebs include model Emily Ratajkowski, Heidi Klum, and Sean Combs. The FTC did not say explicitly that these celebrities violated the FTC’s endorsement guidelines. Rather, they merely flagged suspicious posts, and emphasized that a “connection should be clearly and conspicuously disclosed, unless the connection is already clear from the context of the communication containing the endorsement.” (Yes, that means using hashtags like #ad or #sponsored, so consumers aren’t misled.)

We’ve compiled sample posts from 46 of the celebrities that the FTC alerted, and included them all right here. And to rack up some cash the right way, don’t miss these 20 Greatest Credit Card Deals Right Now.

1
Akon

Akon (@akon)—also known as Aliaume Damal Badara Thiam—is a singer and rapper with 3.2 million Instagram followers.

2
Ashley Benson

Ashley Benson (@ashleybenson) made a name for herself on the hit show Pretty Little Liars.

3
Victoria Beckham

Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham), née Posh Spice, is one half of the world’s hottest couple.

4
Sophia Bush

Sophia Bush (@sophiabush) first made waves in the show One Tree Hill. Now, she’s on TV’s Chicago P.D., and is a heavily involved political activist.

5
Kristin Cavallari

You may remember Kristin Cavallari (@kristincavallari) from MTV’s Laguna Beach, Gawker’s 500 Days of Kristin, or as Mrs. Jay Cutler. She is also author of the book, Balancing in Heels.

6
Ciara

Fun fact: Ciara’s (@ciara) middle name is “Princess.”

7
Sean Combs

When he’s not making music or movies, His Diddy-ness (@diddy) is posting to 8 million Instagram followers.

8
Emily Ratajkowski

Supermodel Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata) is our favorite dog walker.

9
Farrah Abraham

Reality TV star Farrah Abraham (@farrah_abraham) is one of the original Teen Moms.

10
Lucy Hale

Actress and singer Lucy Hale (@lucyhale) stars in the teen drama Pretty Little Liars.

11
Chelsea Houska

Chelsea Houska (@chelseahouska) was a Teen Mom—just not one of the originals.

12
Vanessa Hudgens

Actress and singer Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) first exploded on the scene in the teen-movie phenomenon High School Musical. Today, she’s got more than 25.3 million followers on Instagram.

13
Allen Iverson

NBA hall-of-famer Allen Iverson (@theofficialai3) boasts nearly 3 million followers on Instagram.

14
James Harrison

One-man NFL defensive terror James Harrison (@jharrison92) plays football for the Pittsburgh Steelers. These days, however, he’s just as well known on social media for his over-the-top weightroom feats.

15
Jennifer Lopez

We all know who Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) is.

16
Jennifer Farley

Jennifer Farley, aka J Woww (@jwoww), made a name for herself on Jersey Shore.

17
Kourtney Kardashian

Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash) is the second-most famous Kardashian sister.

18
Heidi Klum

Heidi Klum (@heidiklum) is former supermodel who is definitely aging in reverse.

19
Vanessa Lachey

Vanessa Lachey (@vanessalachey) was Miss Teen USA in 1998.

20
Lilly Ghalichi

Shahs of Sunset star Lilly Ghalichi (@lillyghalichi) boasts a law degree from Loyola Law School.

21
Lisa Rinna

Actress and TV host Lisa Rinna (@lisarinna) first made a name for herself on The Days of Our Lives.

22
Lindsay Lohan

Who hasn’t heard of Lindsay Lohan (@lindsaylohan) by now?

23
Lucy Hale

Actress Lucy Hale (@lucyhale) also stars on Pretty Little Liars.

24
Luke Bryan

Country superstar Luke Bryan (@lukebryan) has 3.6 million followers.

25
Caroline Manzo

Caroline Manzo (@carolinemanzo) is the proprietor of Friendly Monkey Soap Company.

26
Massy Arias

Massy Arias (@massyarias) is a globally renowned health coach.

27
Maci McKinney

Maci McKinney (@macideshanebookout) runs TTMLifestyle.com

28
Denice Moberg

Denice Moberg (@deniceemoberg) is a fitness coach.

29
Naomi Campbell

Naomi Campbell (@iamnaomicampbell) is a fashion model and activist.

30
Nicky Jam

Nicky Jam (@nickyjampr) is a famous singer.

31
Anna Petrosian

Anna Petrosian (@annapetrosian_) has flawless makeup.

32
Behati Prinsloo

Behati Prinsloo (@behatiprinsloo) was the first model for Victoria’s Secret PINK.

33
Rach Parcell

Rach Parcell (@rachparcell) runs Pink Peonies, the clothing line.

34
Guiliana Rancic

Guiliana Rancic (@guilianarancic) is a red carpet questioner.

35
Amber Rose

Amber Rose (@amberrose) famously dated Kanye.

36
Scott Disick

Scott Disick (@letthelordbewithyou) is famous by proxy, to the Kardashians.

37
Jen Selter

Jen Selter (@jenselter) is a world-famous fitness model.

38
Shay Mitchell

Shay Mitchell (@shaymitchell) is also on Pretty Little Liars!

39
Nicole Polizzi

Nicole Polizzi (@snooki) gained fame from Jersey Shore.

40
Jamie Lynn Spears

Jamie Lynn Spears (@jamielynnspears) is Britney’s younger sister.

41
Bella Thorne

Bella Thorne (@bellathorne) acts in Famous in Love.

42
Troian Bellisario

Troian Bellisario (@sleepinthegardn), yet another star of Pretty Little Liars!

43
Sofia Vergera

The actress and Pepsi spokesmodel Sofia Vergera (@sofiavergera) first burst on the scene on TV’s Modern Family.

44
Nina Agdal

Nina Agdal (@ninaagdal) is a famous Danish supermodel.

45
Valentina Vignali

Valentina Vignali (@valentinavignali) is a model and a basketball player.

46
Zendaya

Zendaya (@zendaya) stars in the upcoming Spiderman: Homecoming film.

For more amazing advice for living smarter, looking better, feeling younger, and playing harder, follow us on Facebook now!

GET YOUR FREE GIFT
SUBSCRIBE